Excellence in Dispute Board Avoidance & Resolution Award
Nomination Procedure and Guidelines

Nomination Deadline for 2023 Award: Friday, August 4

This award is given annually to completed projects in Region 1 (US, Canada & the Caribbean) that exemplify Dispute Board best practice. The purpose of the award is to celebrate successes, share best practices, and to acknowledge project teams who achieve extraordinary results.

Projects are awarded to project teams in three categories: 

  • Category 1 – (Project budget less than $25 million)
  • Category 2 – (Project budget between $25 million and $250 million)
  • Category 3 – (Project budget over $250 million)

Eligibility Requirements

  • Projects must be substantially complete by April 1, 2023.
  • A project can only be nominated once for consideration of this award.

Selection Criteria (Where Applicable)

  • Adherence to DRBF practices as found in the Dispute Board Manual: A Guide to Best Practices and Procedures.
  • Adherence to DRBF Code of Ethical Conduct.
  • Use of dispute avoidance, advisory opinion or other informal DRB process.
  • Use of formal DRB dispute resolution process.
  • Fostering open communication and issue resolution.
  • Subcontractor involvement in the DRB process.
  • Clear explanation of challenges and obstacles encountered and the method to overcome.
  • Project completion details: time and budget results.

Selection Process

The award selection process is administered by the DRBF Awards Committee, and the committee has final determination on eligibility and award selection.

Presentation of the award is made at the DRBF Annual Conference. Award recipients will be invited to give a short presentation of their project during the awards ceremony.